Lauren Randolph – Governor’s School of the Arts

This is the second in a series showcasing USJ students who were chosen and participated in the Tennessee Governor’s School of the Arts over the summer. The Tennessee Governor’s School of the Arts is a month long summer program for rising 11th and 12th grade students in Tennessee administered by the State Department of Education. Students are selected in competitive auditions during the months of January or February.

© Lauren Randolph

Lauren Randolph (far right)

“I am so fortunate to have attended Tennessee Governor’s School for the Arts. This opportunity allowed me to explore my strengths as well as my weaknesses, providing me with the tools needed improve.”

© Lauren Randolph

© Lauren Randolph

“The most beneficial part of Governor’s School was getting to learn art history. I was amazed by the varying styles and techniques that exist in works around the world and in different time periods.”

©Lauren Randolph

©Lauren Randolph

“Every day, we would begin with an Orientation to Art class where we were taught many different ideas on the content and context of an artist’s work. We would then spend the rest of the day in and out of drawing and painting classes. I loved every second of it. Another great aspect of this program is the emphasis on the freedom to create. We had very few guidelines when working on the different projects. I believe this really allowed me to discover the different techniques I find interesting, and I was able to express myself through my work. ”

photo 2

“Everyone was so inviting and I made many great friends that I have kept in touch with throughout the beginning of the school year. Being in a creative environment with people who share my passion for art was definitely a great experience, and I learned a lot about myself along the way. ”

© Lauren Randolph

© Lauren Randolph

“I would recommend Governor’s School to anyone who is interested in learning not only about art, but the application of this knowledge to bettering his/her own talent and passion for creativity.”

Thanks, Lauren!  Great work!

Leave a Reply

